autoplay on windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2003, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Default autoplay on windows XP

I lost the autoplay of the CD-rom and DVD player, I have tryed changing them from My computer and the different Cd-roms for the different choises, ej Music CD, DVDs etc with the different programs that will do the autoplay or even the opposit choise of giving me the choise- of prompting me- none of them seem to work. Any ideas of how to solve this ?

giragop is offline  
Old 03-02-2003, 10:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 36

Go to MY COMPUTER . Right click the CD ROM , then go to Properties.Go to the "AUTO PLAY" tab.Either choose "Use this program everytime.." or "Prompt me..." .Then just hit ok and your done.Do the same for the other.

AreaOneZero is offline  
Old 03-03-2003, 05:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2

I already had done that- I posted the question to Microsoft Windoes XP and they sent me the Microsoft Knowledge Base Article #330135 which solved the problem very effectibly.
Thank you very much any way.
giragop is offline  
Old 03-03-2003, 01:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1

Microsoft Saves The Day {very unusual}

A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 03-06-2003, 03:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 35

yeh i had the same problem ! stupid autorun now itz ok. fankx areaonezero.

lance is offline  
Old 09-21-2003, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 154
Send a message via Yahoo to daveppeters

I have a similar problem - my autoplay function is not working (on CD-RW and DVD). In fact, it is not even an option - the autoplay tab is gone!! I have tried deleting/reinstalling the drives in Device Manager, I have tried to update the drivers, and I have tried the things referenced in the M$ Knowledge Base article mentioned above. Everything is set correctly. The other thing is that in Windows Explorer, my drives used to show the specific name (Toshiba DVD, Generic CRD-1700BP), now it just says CD Drive d: and CD Drive e:.

Any Other Ideas?!?
IWill XP-333 / 384MB PC2100 DDR / AMD T-Bird 1.33GHz (o/c to 1.40 until I get a better CPU cooler!) / VisionTek GeForce4 MX440 / SB Live! X-Gamer 5.1 / Maxtor 20GB 7200 RPM HD / Toshiba 8X DVD / Sanyo 40/12/40X CD-RW / Win XP Home
daveppeters is offline  
Old 09-22-2003, 12:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015

hey lance! nice name..just like mine!

devlish96 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.