Autoplay - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2006, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 45
Question Autoplay

For some reason a while ago the auto play from my computer stopped. When I say autoplay I mean the menu that pops-up when I insert a cd and asks you if you want to install. Not the windows one where it asks me what I want to do (e.g. Open folder to view files, or play with media player). Can someone help me?
__________________

koanaihe is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 05:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Ensure shell hardware detection is started and set on automatic in Administrative Tools > Services.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OR
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Double click on the My Computer icon on your Desktop until it opens.
# Then gently click on your CD / DVD Rom Drive just until it becomes highlighted.
# Then click on the word File, which is contained in your top tool bar area.
# This will pull down a menu for you to now click on Properties.
# Then click on the Auto Play tab at the top of the screen.
# Notice how you can adjust settings for Music CDs, Music Files, Pictures, Video Files and Mixed Content.
# Now select one of these multimedia types by using the pull down arrow to the right with your mouse.
# Then for each multimedia type, use your mouse to encircle the Select an action to perform: option.
# To disable that multimedia type, click on the Take no action icon at the bottom of the screen.
# Now click on the Apply button at the bottom of the screen to save your changes.
# Continue in the above fashion for each multimedia type, choosing the Take no action option.
# And ensure that you also click on the Apply button at the bottom of the screen to save your changes.
# Once all options are set to your choosing, click on OK button to exit the CD Drive Properties window.
# Repeat the above procedure on any additional CD Rom Drives you have in your system.
# Note: If you feel you have made a mistake, you can click on the Restore Defaults icon at any time.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 45
Default

I appreciate your help but I meant where the cd has an autorun feature where the game menu will automatically pop-up. Although I tried your directions and have not succeded.
koanaihe is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Q: What OS ?


Q: If you stick in an audio cd, what happens ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

right click the cd drive, properties, autplay, prompt me each time to choose an action...

is it set on that?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 45
Default

xp pro sp2
koanaihe is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 45
Default

I restored everything to default as if I just installed windows because I know then if I stuck in a game say halo it would autoplay and autorun the installer. But it doesn't still. Do you folks understand yet? I tried all that you have suggested but it doesn't work. I know my way around computers but this has been buggin me for a while.
koanaihe is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Is this every disk you try ? How about music cd's and or Dvd's ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 45
Default

yes, I tried S.W.A.T. (dvd), windows xp media(cd), gta san andreas(game), and slim thug(audio cd).
koanaihe is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

And when you put the cd in, windows asks what you want to do with it right ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.