automatic password filling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2004, 03:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 56
Default automatic password filling

how to set win xp to automatically fill the user password at the bootup screen. i mean the welcome screen where the user accounts are put up.
i have only one user account + the administrator account
thanx for any help
__________________

saravanakumar is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 03:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Click Start > Run > Type "Regedit" > Click OK
Goto > HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > Microsoft > Windows NT > CurrentVersion > Winlogon.
Right Click on Winlogon > New > String Value.
The name of the string value should be "AutoAdminLogon" and the value data should be "1".
Go to the same "Winlogon" key and add these 2 String Values:

String = "DefaultUserName" Data = Your User logon ID that you want to autologin.....

String = "DefaultPassword" Data = The users password.

Reboot and then the OS should login as this user all the time.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 01:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Default

u can set it up so u dont have to login at all it will automatically take u to ur accound too
__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 01:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 129
Send a message via Yahoo to param4u
Default

Hey how about this:
Start->Run and type in there : control userpasswords2 (hit ok)
on the screen that opens uncheck the box that says user needs to put in the username and password each time and the computer would just bring you to the desktop each time you boot the system.
param4u is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

LOL! Yea, that too!
I wanted to make sure that he knew the user that was logging in as well.
Registry lessons are always good.....good to know how it works!
Thanks param4u!

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

thanks Param4u, thats an awsome tip!

with this it looks like i can delete the default aministrator account named "adminstrator created by winXP and just have only my regular administrator account named "m7ncd pro" which is what i use to login to the computer right?
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.