Automatic Boot - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 12:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Death Row
i don't know of any automatic things but my brother once set up his pc so that when you called a number the pc would turn on and im guessing you could use that
He has wake on modem set up to a line, so when he called that number, the modem got a signal and booted the computer.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
If not then a timer device that operates a realy would be cool.. could bridge that over you power switch.
that was my first idea but the device needs the power from the wall to operate
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

another option would be a wall timer and i think most bios' have a power on when have power
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

oh man, you guys are bunch of idiots.. come on, there is nothing such as timer... god dam it, lamps are different than computers..
nuke is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nuke
oh man, you guys are bunch of idiots.. come on, there is nothing such as timer... god dam it, lamps are different than computers..
Wait, WHAT?! All a timer do is turn on power or turn off power, via a switch. They dont do anything else. Do you know how a lamp works? You have to apply power to it. You know how a computer works? You have to apply power to it. Tell me how that differs. Now what I'm trying to convey, which is what you should have stated as well, is the fact that Smart ATX power supply's work witha momentary switch. You press it, and it completes the circuit until you let it go or let it reset. You could plug the computer into a wall timer, and, if the psu was not a smart one, it would work. Want me to draw you a picture? If you could replace the switch in a timer with a MOMENTARY switch, which is ENTIRELY possible, then you would be copasetic.

Be a little smarter the next tiem you want to be an *******.
Him is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Nuke, growup. There are timers that can do many things. They only need a little power. The concepts given above are very good. When I first started looking at this post I was thinking a programmable robotic arm with a wait command for X seconds. But then there was the post about doing something with the switch, and I was back in Physics class thinking about RUBE GOLDBERG projects. Looking into programmable switches now. See if I can find something that will do what you need...
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

ok, if I'm a dum here, do you know any computer that does that thing..
nuke is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

no, but you can make anything you want. Just because someone couldn't fly, didn't stop the wright brothers now did it.
Think outside the box for a change.
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

That does what thing? Are you again trying to come in here and say you are oh so smart? YOU CANT EVEN TYPE OR SPELL CORRECTLY! And you are calling US dumb? We didnt call you dumb for not knowing the answer, we called you dumb because you are dumb! Piss off, if you dont have soemthing good to say than dont say it anything at all. It's a shame that I have to resort to saying that.

We are still trying to figure a way for this to work, with an electric timer.
Him is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

see now, here we go again, if you make that kind of computer everyone makes, that person will be rich.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.