auto connect with mac - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2004, 09:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default auto connect with mac

ok so my friend is using mac os9.2 and wants netscape 4.2 and internet explorer 5.0 for macs to connect to the internet via dialup automatically.

as in:
when she uses netscape to send/receive mail, it automatically dialsup to the net.
and when she uses internet explorer she automatically connects to the internet as she opens the browser.

is there a way to do this??
__________________

xotix is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

i'm not sure about settings of IE on MAC. you can though ask mac_moghul for a precise reply.

though in IE, you can go to tools > internet options > connections tab.

and select there, "always dial my default connection" or "dial when network is not present" assuming she do not connects to internet via network as well.

this is based on assumption that the base looks same for both win and macs for IE.


i'm not on netscape, or i wuld have helped u better, but at least can tell you that there are settings (talking about outlook) that you can adjust again selecting never dial to internet / connection if machine isnt on-line.

i think you have to go to edit > preferences in netscape.

as if someone is using Netscape Collabra or similar, he can be able to assist u in Netscape more. but i have given u general idea. though u can try that on IE and afterwards on NS as well
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

yea tried that at first, nothing. the version for mac is totally different.
xotix is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 06:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

mac_moghul on MAC forum

contact him, he is MAC user, also, you should have posted this post on that forum.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.