Audio editing... (Poll) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: How much did you spend on your computer?
$0-1000 8 20.00%
$1000-1500 12 30.00%
$1500-2000 9 22.50%
$2000+ 11 27.50%
Voters: 40. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2006, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka
Default Audio editing... (Poll)

I edit a lot of audio, and I would like to go a little bit faster/smoother while editing it, I am going to upgrade a few things on the computer I edit with. My Computer - 2.1Ghz AMD Athlon XP, 512Mb Ram, 128Mb Video, ound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic PCI, 80Gb HDD, Lite-On Combo Dvd/Cd-rw, HP Cd-Rw 9100, Home Stereo to hear music...
__________________

Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

more ram will help if you encode and decode at 24 bit. so will a better processor
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I would say new processor, DVD-RW drive.

You can keep the RAM and Video card, they'll still work well.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

more ram and new processor
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Get a $450 Dell. Even thought it's a Celeron, it will out-perform your current setup for audio editing.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 06:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Get a $450 Dell. Even thought it's a Celeron, it will out-perform your current setup for audio editing.
LOL. you got jokes

the minute that he tries to encode at 24 bit the machine will lock up
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 06:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

If anything save up awhile for a dual core processor really helps with audio and video editing along with some decent ram. Espcially since prices are coming down later this month worth keeping an eye out for some cheap parts.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 06:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sevenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 243
Default

Faster processor and as much RAM as possible
Sevenor is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 07:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i heard macs are the way to go for audio? dont the powerPC CPUs handle it alot better or something... i dont know really, i just heard that somewhere...
joshd is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default

more ram
__________________

__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.