arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2007, 02:10 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

HOLY CRAPBALLS BATMAN, IT WORKED!!

Unplugged the DVD drive and it works. Who woulda thunk it. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

Does this mean I have to have it unplugged if I want to use Vista though? Can I plug the SATA cable back in while the computer is on and it will work?
__________________

__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 02:13 AM   #22 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

dont ever plug ANYTHIGN while the pc is on...that would be FOOLISH of you to do so.
after the vista install, turn off your pc,psu, and plug the sata cables back in.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 02:20 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
dont ever plug ANYTHIGN while the pc is on...that would be FOOLISH of you to do so.
after the vista install, turn off your pc,psu, and plug the sata cables back in.
I agree. haha.

But I will have a problem though if it doesn't work when I do that. I will try that here in a few, I need some drivers installed now.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 02:21 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

welp i guess it was fixed- i was going to suggest unplugging some of the newer stuff to test which hardware it could be- as he put it theres not much he coulda messed up "user" wise- so it had to be a internal conflict.


Glad to see it was resolved- Vista is definately a beautiful OS and gets lots of negative feedback for no reason.
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 03:05 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Vista is beautiful, but man it eats up resources. I am glad I went from 2GB to 4GB of RAM a few days ago.

And the 8800GT helps too
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 03:34 AM   #26 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

it is beautiful, but still problems.
Im having so many problems right now.
ati tool,core temps, peer guardian wont work

world in conflict works, then quite on me after playing it for some time.

This is my 3rd time going back to vista to see if it has improved, and so far im still very disappointed.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 07:45 AM   #27 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

I wont even get into this one. Glad you got it working though. I can tell you why. SATA DVD Drives are newer than Even Vista is. They do not recognize them. Just like many XP discs do not recognize SATA HDD's. So during the install i bet you if you hit f6 to install 3rd party drivers and installed your SATA DVD drivers you wouldtn have crashed.

So technically it was user error and not Microsoft's fault. They did release a workign OS. Considering Vista was done and release a year ago this month. (Business Ediiton was in Nov, rest were in Jan but was finalized in Nov before Business was released) I have yet to have a problem with Vista that i havent caused and solved myself.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 07:57 AM   #28 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
it is beautiful, but still problems.
Im having so many problems right now.
ati tool,core temps, peer guardian wont work

world in conflict works, then quite on me after playing it for some time.

This is my 3rd time going back to vista to see if it has improved, and so far im still very disappointed.
Core Temp works fine for me. Also, Peer Guardian has Released a Beta Test of a Version that will work with Vista. Head over here: Torrentbox.com Forums :: View topic - For all you Vista & PeerGuardian Users to see my post & to get the link.


I also stand behind Makaveli - You are going to experience problems - it's a computer!! XP was nowhere near perfect when it came out- it took time for it to get all the kinks ironed out. Give it time and you won't go back. I know I won't.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 08:02 AM   #29 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhgunit View Post
Do either of you know someone on these forums that can help me?

I really save my weekends for computer gaming, this is going to give me a bad weekend.
Really you will have a bad weekend for not gaming? How about going outside??? Life does not revolve around video games...
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
it is beautiful, but still problems.
Im having so many problems right now.
ati tool,core temps, peer guardian wont work

world in conflict works, then quite on me after playing it for some time.

This is my 3rd time going back to vista to see if it has improved, and so far im still very disappointed.
Sorry to say but you should have done some research. It says right ont he PeerGuardian site that it is not Vista compatibile. They just released a beta version but before that there was no working PG for Vista.

So you shouldnt be dissappointed with VIsta. Be disappointed with the people who write the software and why they have not made it Vista compatibile yet. It is their fault not Microsoft's. I really wish people would learn that....
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:09 PM   #30 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhgunit View Post
HOLY CRAPBALLS BATMAN, IT WORKED!!

Unplugged the DVD drive and it works. Who woulda thunk it. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

Does this mean I have to have it unplugged if I want to use Vista though? Can I plug the SATA cable back in while the computer is on and it will work?
Glad to see you got it working.

Just curious, what DVD drive do you use?
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What would you do with a stick of dynamite ? Oreo Off Topic Discussion 30 10-30-2007 04:36 PM
10 reasons why anyone should stick Samerron Off Topic Discussion 32 07-25-2007 05:25 AM
USB stick not recognized by XP 220volt Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-29-2007 02:52 AM
Selling Kind of Broke Hacked PSP w/2gb mem stick and Tekken game! Sora Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 05-29-2007 01:52 AM
USB stick won't create a drive Reenen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2007 05:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.