arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2007, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

My comp was running great. Now I have nothing.

When I try to start up Windows Vista, the loading screen comes up and then it flashes blue and restarts.

Same thing in Safe Mode.

When I try to boot from the disk, I get a blue screen also.

Technical Information reads:

STOP: 0x0000007E (0xFFFFFFFFC0000005, 0xFFFFF8000985E251, 0xFFFFF98000E0EB98, 0xFFFFF98000E0E570)

Specs are in sig. Windows should release an OS that works or don't release one at all IMO.
__________________

__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhgunit View Post
Specs are in sig. Windows should release an OS that works or don't release one at all IMO.
Interesting how Vista works perfectly fine for me and many others...maybe its a user error?

Google turns up this: How to troubleshoot a Stop 0x0000007E error in Windows XP
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Maybe it is. But what error can a user make when installing Vista?

I formatted my disk and clicked install. Then I entered my serial key.

Not much of a chance to make an error there.

Also, I had already looked at that page. Thanks microsoft!! .............
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhgunit View Post
Maybe it is. But what error can a user make when installing Vista?
Beats me man.

You didn't try to upgrade from XP did you?

Save all your stuff, wipe the drive completely, and try to install Vista again.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

No I didn't upgrade.

I didn't save anything, I just wiped all that crap away.

How can I install it again? I get the frickin error when I boot from disk. I basically can't do anything except get in the BIOS.

I feel like committing suicide right now. I just got an 8800GT and I can't use it.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

im getting a problem with vista ult 64 bit..i think its a problem.
In c:drive i have 2 program files folders...one is has X86 on it...is that normal?

and dhgunit...i would to a clean fresh install of vista...format your hdd first.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Yeah, I think that has something to do with 64-bit.

I remember that folder when I used XP 64-bit when it first came out.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Actually, now that I think about it I am sure that is what it is. Its been like 2 maybe 2 and a half years, but I think all the files in the x86 folder are 64-bit programs.

Nothing to worry about at all.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhgunit View Post
Actually, now that I think about it I am sure that is what it is. Its been like 2 maybe 2 and a half years, but I think all the files in the x86 folder are 64-bit programs.

Nothing to worry about at all.
isnt x86 32bit?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: arrrrghhhh....why didn't I just stick with XP

Ooops. Yeah, that may be right.

Again, its been like 2 1/2 years.

Well, I formatted and reinstalled. and......blue screen again.
__________________

__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What would you do with a stick of dynamite ? Oreo Off Topic Discussion 30 10-30-2007 04:36 PM
10 reasons why anyone should stick Samerron Off Topic Discussion 32 07-25-2007 05:25 AM
USB stick not recognized by XP 220volt Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-29-2007 02:52 AM
Selling Kind of Broke Hacked PSP w/2gb mem stick and Tekken game! Sora Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 05-29-2007 01:52 AM
USB stick won't create a drive Reenen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2007 05:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.