Application Lock Password - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 09:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 16
Default Application Lock Password

Hey all,
Is there any utility available which can set a password lock for certain applications in my pc. My friends also use my pc and i donot want to log out everytime they want to use it. But i donot want them to use some of my applications like my instant messenger since i have set an automatic login in it. Is there any utlity which opens these applications only on entering a password ?
Thank u
jnp
__________________

jnp1978 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 09:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

There's a way to do it, and it's been posted here before. See what a search pulls up.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 05:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

To create a shortcut on your desktop to lock your computer:

1.
Right-click the desktop.

2.
Point to New, and then click Shortcut.

3.
The Create Shortcut Wizard opens. In the text box, type the following:
rundll32.exe user32.dll,LockWorkStation

4.
Click Next.

5.
Enter a name for the shortcut. You can call it "Lock Workstation" or choose any name you like.

6.
Click Finish.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 07:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Why don't you create an account for your friend...and when he wants to use your PC, simply switch users but don't logoff your account, then get your friend to login to his personal account. Simple as. This way you'll have your own private workspace.

This is of course assuming you have Windows XP.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://www.roboform.com/

https://addons.mozilla.org/extension...nfo.php?id=750
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.