aperature - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2004, 04:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 97
Default aperature


sure do hope i am right place for a dummy question.

in my bios a got a deal called aperature size and it is set on 64mb
and i was wondering if i should maybe change it to 128mb.

i have a
Intel P4 800 3.0 1mb cache
radeon 9800XT
1024 memory crucial
windows XP home
sound blaster audigy 2Z

if any of you fine fellows can help me out, i sure would appreciate it.

thanks much

harley88 is offline  
Old 05-19-2004, 08:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
HoLoCroN's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305

Is that in the AGP Settings?

If so, keep it to the manufacturer suggested setting.

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-19-2004, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872

Agp aperture size defines the amount of RAM the agp can use in order for it to have more memory to process textures and other visual data.

If u have a lot of system memory (which u do ) then it's fine that u set it to 128 ... In most cases 64 should be more than sufficient though ..

For a more detailed analysis of this ..read this article by tweak3d
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 05-19-2004, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

For the most part, set it to about 1/2 or 1/4 of your system RAM; 128 is optimal, >128 for machines with >=512 MB RAM, and 64 if you encounter serious issues such as stuttering.
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.