aol....omg - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2005, 08:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Are you running XP or ME, if so have you tried a "system restore"? Perhaps that would get you back to a decent enough environment to try the install again.
__________________

tribalsun is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 08:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I'm running ME...

But the thing is....

This problem came up in november... and it's just been like this until now when im trying to fix it.

Damn... seems that the universe is working against me : P
__________________

hamstertube is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 09:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Back-up, format, reinstall. Get rid of AOL.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 09:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
Back-up, format, reinstall. Get rid of AOL.

that's what i would do.

i think windowsMe is a peice of crap anyhow. i would go get a copy of win98 and you can get that for dirt cheap.

i would call aol and tell them they suck!!! and there software sucks!!!!



that is a long time to be paying for service that doesn't work.

if you bit_ch enough you might get out of the contract.

don't know what else to tell you aol just sucks ***
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 07:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah I give up now.
I don't even know why someone in britain would decide to go with a company called america online.

I'm just gonna call them up and ***** at them until they cancel it, then go with another provider.

Thanks for your help guys!

-Callum
hamstertube is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 01:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Good luck
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

and if possible, try to get older versions of AOL (8.0 and below) because the new 9.0 wannabe security bullsh*t that their doing is a real system hog. IMO 8.0 is the best version that AOL made, it wasn't a real system hog like 9.0SE and it has all the same features.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 10:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

Yo, i live in scotland


Btw, our internet sucks BAWS.

we get a 1mb connection for about 60 us dollars, in finland, sweden for this money you have a 10 mb connection.
Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 06:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default

oh jesus just go to run then do regedit then search for aol delete all keys regardless of warnings ---- then reinstall it
spinner421 is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 10:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

if its a possible hardware conflict, just go into safe mode, and into device manager and under system look for 'PCI Bus' and delete it. Restart and it should come up finding ALL of your hardware all over again, so if there is a conflict that will almost ALWAYS resolve it. Make sure you know where the drivers are at, usually in windows; windows\system (or system32) or in the inf folder. Another thing to do is above suggestion of finding all aol entries and delete them. If it happens on startup, then go and look at these following keys (these run programs / setup continuations at startup). If you dont know what it is, LEAVE IT ALONE!!! Other wise you may have a format on your hands, and as always backup the registry before messing with it. Here are the areas to check:

• HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run
• HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Run
• HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\RunOnce
• HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\RunOnce
• HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\ RunServices
• HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\ RunServicesOnce
• HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\ RunOnce\Setup

You can also try going into dos (F8 then dos safe mode) and then type in the following:

scanreg /restore <enter>

and choose a date. This doesn't always work, and make sure to unplug the modem before doing this. This will hopefully default to what the registry looked like at the date you picked. Worse case scenario, guess you could set it up as it was on first boot up. You have to attrib the config.1st and user.1st so its no longer hidden, archived, protected, etc. Just use the -r -a -s -h attribs, then rename them to config.sys and user.dat (rename the original to config.old and user.old). Other than that, guess you could deltree.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.