Anyone use Panda av? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2004, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default Anyone use Panda av?

I had some viruses that AVG did not pick up. So I got Panda Ti Ed. antivirus and it got rid of them. I could tell from the start that it was a little bit of a resource hog, but not to bad. But I ran aqaumark to see how much, and I scored about 2500 less!!!!! Ouch! I also can notice it a little in games. Anyone else have this problem with this software? Also, what is a good virus program other than AVG that doesn't add a million processes? Plz help!
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

having antivirus programs open is always going to slow down your computer, you should only have one running on auto-protect at max
personally I use Norman antivirus, which is the most powerful antivirus program I've used, but surprisingly doesn't use much resources
Norman is designed to run well on Windows 3.1 all the way up to Windows 2003
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 309
Send a message via Yahoo to sippin codeine
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
having antivirus programs open is always going to slow down your computer, you should only have one running on auto-protect at max
personally I use Norman antivirus, which is the most powerful antivirus program I've used, but surprisingly doesn't use much resources
Norman is designed to run well on Windows 3.1 all the way up to Windows 2003
Do you mean Norton? If so then yea, its a good product, i would reccomend it over any AV program.
__________________
**[System specs]**

Delphi Enterprise 6 - 7
VB 6.0 - 2005 EE
sippin codeine is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

Ya, I have always used Norton untill this summer. But I have had some viruses get by it, even after updating and what not. Panda gets these, but uses an additional 9 processes!!! ARG!. So now I use AVG (using hardly no resources) and use the free a=online panda scan about a once or twice a week.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 03:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 112
Default

AVG and stinger with periodic ad-aware scans have been doing the trick for me for awhile...
__________________
Jeff Cline
MYTHLOGIC Corporation
Custom. Gaming. Computers.
<a href=\"http://www.mythlogic.com\">http://www.mythlogic.com</a>
jcline is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.