Anyone know the legalese of Windows Lisences? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2005, 11:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default Anyone know the legalese of Windows Lisences?

Anyone know if a liscense is for each computer or each installation?

I'm installing VMWare on my computer to have a virtual computer and am wondering if its legal to have the same copy on my real computer as the virtual one?

This is not for personal use so its not a "if they don't know it can't hurt you" situation.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 11:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Ropponmatsu
Default

The license is for one copy per computer. Originally you can only activate windows 3 times but just call they're number to have it activated and they could care less.
__________________

Ropponmatsu is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 11:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

It is per machine. You are however entitled to install the same copy on one laptop as well. I dont know what VMware is, but it sounds like some kind of maybe an emulator for a Mac or other OS? If so that Mac or other platform would require a unique license from Microsoft as it is a new machine.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 11:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

VMWare allows you to have multiple Operating systems running on the same hardrive/partition/computer at the same time. It creates a virtual computer that emulates a real computer in just about every aspect that can run inconjunction with the real computer.

Basically we'll be using it so someone can RDP into the virtual computer while someone continues working on the real one.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.