anyone familiar with partition copying software? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2004, 01:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 69
Default anyone familiar with partition copying software?

I dowloaded a program Acronis Disk Director so that I could copy my current C drive to a new HDD and make it bootable so i can get rid of my old drive. the 2 partitions that are on my C: are a 76 gig system partition and a 5 gig EISA partition whatever that is. I copied both partitions from my C drive but I cant boot the computer from the new drive. I've been through the help files on the software but nothing is very clear.

Also does it matter where the partitions are located on the drive?

If anyone has an idea what i need to do your help is much appreciated. Thanks
Joe
__________________

freenet is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I am not familiar with Acronis.

Make sure the partition is primary AND active.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I suggest using either Norton Ghost or PowerQuest Drive Image.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I bought that software. it jack my computer up. I return it for partition magic 7
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i use norton ghost...works great for me
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 69
Default

hey delldude i just got norton ghost and reformatted my old drive and then did the copy wizard and selected all the options including copy MBR and set the new drive to active but when it was done after 5 hrs i set the new drive to master, unhooked the old one and restarted but it wont boot. i get a error message that says check hardware config or boot path. did you have this problem at all? Maybe you can tell me exactly what you did and ill see what i did wrong but i think i did it right


Thanks for any help
__________________

freenet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.