Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2008, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
LightingBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to LightingBird Send a message via MSN to LightingBird Send a message via Yahoo to LightingBird
Arrow Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

Hey all,

I need help again!!!

I'm trying to remote into an employees machine on windows xp. When I'm in there are certain things they are not permitted to do that only admins such as myself can perform. Sometimes I come across machines that have secondary login disabled so that I am not able to make any changes since I cannot login.

Does anyone know if there is anyway around this remotely?
__________________

__________________
LightingBird is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

why not connect as the admin account from the get go?
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
LightingBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to LightingBird Send a message via MSN to LightingBird Send a message via Yahoo to LightingBird
Default Re: Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

As stated, I'm logging in remotely.
__________________
LightingBird is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

connect remotely

at login prompt, enter admin credentials.

if not at login prompt, logoff then login as admin
office politics is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 03:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
LightingBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to LightingBird Send a message via MSN to LightingBird Send a message via Yahoo to LightingBird
Default Re: Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

We connect by either netmeeting or vncviewer. Neither will allow me to log off and on as admin.
__________________
LightingBird is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

You will have to use Remote Desktop or RealVnc or something other to get the permissions needed. Going thru NetMetting will not get you the admin right snadn there is no option to elevate you to have the appropiate options.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

can't send ctrl+alt+del and logoff? vnc should allow this.
office politics is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 06:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

I think since it is vncviewer it wont.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 10:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

As far as your initial question, no you cannot use run-as when the secondary logon service is not running. That service is what handles the run-as requests.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 06:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Any way to run "run as" when secondary login is disabled?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
I think since it is vncviewer it wont.
in vnc (non fullscreen), right click the title bar, click send ctrl+alt+del.


or

i know this works with tightvnc. press left shift+clrl+alt+del.

holding left shift is meant to send the keyboard command to the remote pc
__________________

office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I don't know much about computers and I need help with the go.google.com trojan Tom411 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 10-22-2008 09:18 PM
problem with pakes.kzv trojan Traian HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 10-22-2008 07:07 AM
Need help with this log wendy HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 09-05-2008 07:08 AM
HJT Log carnageX HijackThis Logs (finished) 12 05-22-2008 05:18 PM
Help duph123 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 03-04-2008 07:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.