Any way to recover data lost in a reformat? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2005, 12:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Unhappy Any way to recover data lost in a reformat?

so i re-installed windows, and completely forgot that EVERYTHING in My Documents\My Pictures\My Music would be wiped out... is there any software i can use to recover the data lost in those folders? i think i remember the only way to permanently erase data is to overwrite it 7 times... help please!
__________________

Cobra is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Default

anyone?
__________________

Cobra is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 05:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I think that would cost some big money... I don't know of a public app that would do that for you.... sorry.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 06:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

There are several software products that can do it for you, but they all cost money. if you are interested in doing it and paying for it, then say so, otherwise...
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 06:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Just search for data recovery apps... there are some free ones, but ones that are intuitive are the ones you have to pay money for.

http://www.google.com/search?q=Data+...en-US:official
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 07:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

There is an inexpensive program: Get Data Back: http://www.runtime.org/ It works Flawlessly! Puts your files back into all of the original folders even if you have reformated and reinstalled windows!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 07:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Default

ok, so i found a few programs like EasyRecovery Professional, SmartUndelete, and GetDataBack, thanks to Rico. now, when i wanna recover the data, it says i can't recover the data to the same partition\drive. how can i make a new partition without reformatting? thanks guys
Cobra is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 01:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

You can hire people to do this for you. You get professionals in the field of recovering any data erased in any way possible.
dnoch is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 03:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

No!!! Just buy a second hard drive.....you need it for backup anyway. save the recovered files to that drive for permanent storage!!! 2 hd's is a mandatory requirement for a good system...in my humble opinion! Hiring "profesionals" is a huge waste of money since the softeware you can access and use easily is the same stuff they use!!!!!!! I pulled a Homer Simpson and formated the wrong drive this year. I put in a slave hd and then used Get Data Back. Whammmmooooo!! I lost nothing!! Definition of a "Professional" a guy form out of town with a three piece suit and a briefcase! LOL...you are the professional dude, be dependent on yourself first!!!! And come to forums like this and learn new stuff!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.