Anti-Virus - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2007, 03:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to PsYcHo_ShiZniT
Question Anti-Virus

Ok, just used PC Restore, aka Symantec Ghost, on my Dell. And now it has McAfee on it, like it was when it came to my doorstep. Now before, I uninstalled it and went straight to Norton SystemWorks cause my dad always used that.

I've had problems with SystemWorks, multiple times.

Now, I need to know what is better in performance, speed, and security for my gaming Dell.

--McAfee Security Center
--Norton SystemWorks
--AntiVirus software from my ISP, Charter.
http://www.charter.net/files/charter...uite/index.php

Before you say AVG, I've had problems with that in the past and I just don't like it.

Thanks!
__________________

PsYcHo_ShiZniT is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Avast!, is one of the best free ones out there.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to PsYcHo_ShiZniT
Default

Meh, I'm kinda edging toward using one of those 3 that I listed. I've never heard of Avast.
PsYcHo_ShiZniT is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 04:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

McAffee and Norton are 2 of the worst. Many people will back me up on this. Avast! is one of the best.

http://www.virusbtn.com/vb100/index

That site can show you the results of any AV. Sign up and check the results youself. I have done some studies and found that Norton and McAffee take up more resources than Avast, AVG NOD32 or many others that i have tried.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default

Avast is the best.....

but out of your list, McAfee has NEVER done me wrong
GSM CEO is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 05:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Do what Makaveli says he knows these things lol

I was sure i had a virus and none of my AV's picked it up and when Mak said use Avast it found 2 trojan's
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 06:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to PsYcHo_ShiZniT
Default

Well I used my ISP's software suite. It's made by F-Secure if that rings any bells. If this doesn't work I'll be sure to keep Avast in mind. Thanks guys!
PsYcHo_ShiZniT is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 08:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default

Go with Avast.. Macfee will greatly slow down your rig... IMO anyway.. depending on what components of macfee you install it can add up to 10 or more processes to your computer. When I installed it i went from 38 processes to 52. I noticed a difference in speed.. espically when booting up and logging into windows.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default

OK Guys,

you've pursueided me to download Avast again...i had it before on my old PC but it will now be on this one too

ill run avast AND AcAfee through a Virus scan and see if they have the same results or not.
GSM CEO is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to PsYcHo_ShiZniT
Default

wow, I see a HUGE difference since I removed Norton and then removed McAfee after installing that. Charter takes very little resources and I'm hitting 70 FPS on my ATI x600 which I've never done before. My ping remains incredibly low on all games. If charter fails me, I'll go to Avast! thanks guys!
__________________

PsYcHo_ShiZniT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.