Anti-Hacking software - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2004, 11:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 35
Default Anti-Hacking software

I was wondering if there is such a thing. Can you install something like this on your pc to BLOCK ANYONE THAT TRIES to HACK your pc? If so, how is this different than what I firewall does? What is a good program for this? I am confused. LOL, thanks

icanrace is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill

Simply put... no.

A firewall is "anti-hacking" software. A program like Black Ice serves to deter connections to your PC that you are unaware of (amon many other functions).

But a good hacker can get to anyone if they want to. Best thing to do if it concerns you is educate yourself on the proper use of security.

System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 42

Best bet, is use a router is you have a broadband connection and use a software firewall behind it, then go to a site for an online security inspection. I am forgetting the websites now but do a google and you will find them, there is a good one based out of Germany that I am blanking on right now.

Nothing will make you hacker proof, you just want to have good enough security that 99% of the scrip kiddies out there can not get in.
rasputinj is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad

Yeah, go to for a great router with an excellent firewall.
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor

Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 11:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204

if you are running windoze servers, be sure to take a look at urlscan... iislockd and mtaedt... search micro$oft and you are bound to find them..
gruntwerk is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
milen's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 308

There is no any software like this....
This is why Microsoft is lunching patches and Fixes every week.
May be you can find the little nice program "TCPView"
It will show you all the connection from and to your PC.

It give you option to END the connection if you think that is not done from you......

milen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.