another useless question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default another useless question

here we go:
safe mode, what is it?
i know it doesn't start applications when u boot in safe mode. i also know that it allows you to delete files with ease but what else?
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

it only loads the files/services that windows needs to run

if you can't get into safe mode, you should prolly reinstall windows.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 04:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

oh i can access safe mode fine now... i was just wondering
is there anything else..?
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 04:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

I think its most useful for when you make a change to your installation, whether it be hardware or software, and the installation is no longer able to start, you have a way back in to change things back.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

ahh ok thanx man idk im just wondering why safe mode is there...
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

safe mode just loads the main core windows files and nothing else. that is why it doesnt allow you to do some things in safe mode.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 07:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

wow i was right
coo
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

NO question is useless. However, the google definition of safe mode is the following:

Safe Mode - A temporary method of running Windows using the absolute minimum in resources. In the event of a hardware failure or malfunction, it can become necessary to run the operating system in the Safe Mode. In safe mode, it is sometimes possible to back up files and otherwise rescue data that is subject to loss due to eminent hardware failure. Windows is often able to alert the user to such problems before they actually occur. It would be wise to print out the instructions for Safe Mode operation prior to needing them. To do so, go to Start, Help, type "Safe Mode" into the keyword prompt box, click on Display and print the instructions for safekeeping.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

I find that odd, for one reason. My safe mode freezes ALOT.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

hmhm...when you're in safe mode, you're not supposed to do anything fast...cauze it's just like windows, if you try to open anything that windows doesn't need, it might blow up on you.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.