another reinstall xp question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2004, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 19
Default another reinstall xp question

Hi, quick question. Im reinstalling xp onto a NEW drive. Will this method below work still if Im changing my HD's or not because it will see new drive as hardware changes? All other hardware is same..just new drive. I cant find my activation code so...ug. Old drives boot sector is failing on me at moment I believe.


1. Double-click My Computer
2. Double-click on the "C" drive
3. Go to the C:\Windows\System32 folder (you may have to click on the link that says "Show The contents of this folder")
4. Find the files "wpa.dbl" and "wpa.bak" and copy them to a safe location. You can copy them on a floppy drive or burn it onto a CD or DVD.
5. After you have reinstalled Windows XP on your reformatted hard drive, click "No" when asked if you want to go ahead and go through the activation process
6. Reboot your computer into SafeMode (you can either press F8 as Windows is booting up to see the Windows Advanced Options menu and select SAFEBOOT_OPTION=Minimal or follow the instructions in Starting Windows XP in SafeMode
7. Double-click My Computer
8. Double-click on the "C" drive
9. Go to the C:\Windows\System32 folder (you may have to click on the link that says "Show The contents of this folder")
10. Find the file "wpa.dbl" and "wpa.bak" (if it exists) and rename them to "wpadbl.new" and "wpabak.new"
11. Copy your original "wpa.dbl" and "wpa.bak" files from your floppy disk, CD or DVD into the C:\Windows\System32 folder
12. Restart your system (if you followed the directions in Starting Windows XP in SafeMode you may need to go back into MSCONFIG to turn off booting into SafeMode)
__________________

Zardoz is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 19
Default

I just read this on http://aumha.org/win5/a/wpa.htm
Now im confused how I should do this...just need to install new hard drive on same computer without a activation code written down.

HINT No. 3: It is valuable to back up the two files WPA.DBL and WPA.BAK from the Windows\System32 folder.Then, should they get damaged, or should you do a ‘Repair’ reinstallation of Win XP, these files can be copied back to restore the prior activation status. However, this only works in those limited circumstances. The contents of these two files is matched to the specific Windows setup; therefore, contrary to what many journalists and members of the user community have written in recent months, restoring these files will not restore your activation status following a reformat and clean install.
__________________

Zardoz is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 06:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

i have never seen that wpa.bak file on my computers.

but copy that file(s) back you should be allright
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 19
Default

Ok thanks ..im going to try.
Zardoz is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 19
Default

Ok I put new drive in, formatted and all that...start installing xp. There is at no time away to cancel or get into safe mode without putting the activation code in. I dont understand how this is possible. I wish there was a way I could just get the code and put it in...its legit..same computer. I just lost the stupid cd sleave with the code on it...this sucks.
I tried booting into safe mode and it will not load..it just restarts installation. Any help would be appreciated!

by the way Im on a seperate comp at moment...thats why Im online.

This step isnt there for me...
5. After you have reinstalled Windows XP on your reformatted hard drive, click "No" when asked if you want to go ahead and go through the activation process
Zardoz is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 19
Default

forget this..ive never dealt with anything more rediculous than this..just trying to reinstall my os. I guess I have to go pay ms another 200 bucks for XP tommorow. My hard drive wont even boot so...running a program to get this stupid activation code wont work..and even if I do get it, its gonna see a new hard drive and not let me install because of the hardware hash or whatever. I cant wait till monday to call em.
Zardoz is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Wow, being a little harsh tonight, are we?

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks alot for the help..Dan...the man....you rule!
Zardoz is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 07:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

hey, call ms and ***** at them, seriously, it works usually, if not, somehow go onto a friend's computer and get a program that will read and write NTFS partitions in dos, then put the files back that way, unless ur on a fat partition then just boot to dos and try it that way, hopefully it helps. but ur best luck is just ***** at microsoft for 5 minutes, works for my friend, works for me, pretty sure its gonna work for u.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 07:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

are you saying that you lost your xp cd key?

you left that out earlier. copying those wpa.dbl and .bak files has nothing to do with that

anyway, go get you a copy of partition magic. put your old hard drive back in and copy your old drive files to your new one. you won't have to worry about activation

what software came with your new hard drive? you should have some kind of disc copying software with it

or download you a trial version
of tweak xp http://www.totalidea.com/frameset-products.htm
it will show you your cd key on your first hard drive, write it down, type it in word and print you a copy to put up
__________________

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.