another formatting question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to thedevilisbad Send a message via Yahoo to thedevilisbad
Default another formatting question

Ok so I figured out how to reformat my old 98SE.

Now I need to format a unused drive on my XP. Before we got XP home I had XP pro on this computer (illegaly until I could get a legal copy). Xp pro was on our C: drive. My exchange student who knows more about loading windows then I do (we always buy it preloaded) created some partitions for the drives so If we need to reformat we wouldn't have to delete all our files. Well I screwed up loading XP home and I put it on our D: drive. Now it ask me to choose my OS whenever I boot up. Will I be able to format my C drive even though it is the primary partition and my D drive is and extension?

Thanks for all the previous help,

Aaron
__________________

thedevilisbad is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Yes, you can use partitionmagic 8 to do this.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Redcoat
Default

So I as understand it you have XP Pro install on your C: drive and XP home installed on your D: drive?

You can still format c: even if you partioned your hard drive. It will not damange any files remaining on the d: drive

You can do this by booting off the XP install cd and when choosing the partition to install on choose the option to format it before installing the OS.

If you want to get both C: and D: formatted back into one large drives you will need to use a partitioning program... either FDISK or a third party one like patition magic.

Post again if you need clarity
__________________
Jonathan C.
Redcoat is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to thedevilisbad Send a message via Yahoo to thedevilisbad
Default

opk thanks lets see if this works
thedevilisbad is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 71
Default

The files ntldr, ntdetect.com and boot.ini on C: are required to boot your copy of xp on D:. Make sure you replace them if you format C:.
popey is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to thedevilisbad Send a message via Yahoo to thedevilisbad
Default

do you guys know of any free versions of something like partitionmagic 8?
thedevilisbad is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 07:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

Partition Resizer. Although I've never used it, it seems to be lacking some features.
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 10:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to thedevilisbad Send a message via Yahoo to thedevilisbad
Default

"The files ntldr, ntdetect.com and boot.ini on C: are required to boot your copy of xp on D:. Make sure you replace them if you format C:."


How do I do that?
thedevilisbad is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

No partition magic is not free. But hey if you pirat windows pirating Partition Magic shouldn't be too hard.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 11:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to thedevilisbad Send a message via Yahoo to thedevilisbad
Default

Well my friend is a tech genius, and I tired to use a key generator but failed. So I just used pro to buy my copy of home over ebay. Then my free trial of pro ran out so I thought I'd get rid of it.
__________________

thedevilisbad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.