AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2008, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit?

Hi, I have AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ dual core processors running in windows xp 64 bit, and it sucks.

It's fast, don't get me wrong...but nothing works! Well, almost nothing.

Drivers for my mp3 player and digital camera, do not work.

And, most video games do not work.

I read around that I could use windows xp 32 bit with my 64 bit processor, but I'm having trouble finding information discussing what the consequences of doing so are.

Someone told me that if I run windows xp 32bit with my 64bit processor, only one of my cores will operate. I'm not sure I believe that.

Can anyone point me towards some information on this topic?

Thank you very very much!
__________________

Aro2220 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit?

Yes, you can use a 32bit OS on a 64bit CPU. Most CPU's are all now 64bit, and a lot of people run 32bit OS's on them (I'm doing this right now, in fact, since I have XP 32bit, and my C2D e6750 is a 64bit CPU. And both cores ARE recognized.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 01:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit?

So, my amd processor would run just as well in winxp32 bit as it would in winxp64, only it is no longer compatible with 64 bit applications.

Correct?
Aro2220 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aro2220 View Post
So, my amd processor would run just as well in winxp32 bit as it would in winxp64, only it is no longer compatible with 64 bit applications.

Correct?
Correct.

A majority of us, are actually using a 32-bit OS. And all processors now, are 64-bit.

And...
Welcome to Tech-Forums!!!
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 01:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit?

Yep, yep. Running a 4200+ X2 and XP 32-bit. No worries.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 02:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit?

Thank you for all your help and for the warm welcome!
Aro2220 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 02:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit?

No problem =).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 04:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit?

Yes Welcome to Tech-Forums. As stated you will have no issues. Other than if you run more than 3GB of RAM.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 03:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: AMD x64 in WinXP 32bit?

have you installed the AMD dual core optimizer?
my computer seemed to run a bit better after installing that....
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.