amd opteron 170 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 07:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default amd opteron 170

what is the best windows to use with that cpu ?
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Windows XP Home or Pro
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default

well pro becasuse you get the free 64 bit download of xp pro, so that os could take full advantage of the processor. Take in mind though people say that theres driver conflict and some bugs with the 64 bit version of windows xp.
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeonģ X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

what about the xp pro x64?does this cpu supports 64bit
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Sorry for that I didn't pay to much attention to the model number. The 17 hundreds are dual core and 64 bit and I do recommende using XP Pro x64 over the ordinary pro. If you hardware has the drivers there is no reason not to make the move.


Link to thread I made with extensive info on Dual Core Processors and XP x64.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
Sorry for that I didn't pay to much attention to the model number. The 17 hundreds are dual core and 64 bit and I do recommende using XP Pro x64 over the ordinary pro. If you hardware has the drivers there is no reason not to make the move.


Link to thread I made with extensive info on Dual Core Processors and XP x64.
thanks for the link..but what do you mean by drivers
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.