Am i doing something wrong - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2004, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Syn
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Default Am i doing something wrong

well last night i got up and downloaded a new video driver for the nividia 5600 yet the new driver, well crapped my pc even more, firt of it is not recognized in my system and when i do a windows update it says i need to downloada new driver , an old one for that matter, but i already have a newer one ,also my farcry game is now crappy since all i see is a blue enviromental fog...if anyone knows what can be done to help plz tell me also is this the correct way to uninstal a driver....go to the control pannel locate the old version of the driver which in my case is thew nvidia vid driver and restart the pc then instal the new one.......i am only asking this since i get the feeling i have to leave the old one and instal the new one
__________________

Syn is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default

i suggest you go back to the old driver. if you hve XP, you can rollback to the previous driver but you said you uninstallled it? either ay go back to the old one. the only time you'll need to update a driver is if you're having problems with the current one.
__________________

__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Syn
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Default

but ist it important to update drivers once in a while
Syn is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default

no it's not. you can keep the saame drivers for your video card if they're working for you. the only times i can think of that you need to update drivers are:

1.Problems with hardware or software related to hardware
2.Change of hardware
3.Change of OS
__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Syn
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Default

so if i updated a windows programme or upgradded my direct x to 9.0c i shuold change it
Syn is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default

generally no. only if you have problems after installing and you narrow it down to your card's drivers being outdate after troubleshooting.
__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Syn
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Default

so if i updated a windows programme or upgradded my direct x to 9.0c i should change it
__________________

Syn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.