Alright, what program... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Unhappy Alright, what program...

What program can I use to transfer info from one hard drive to another...

I have bought a new computer and my old one has alot of stuff on it that i want (its the family computer tho) so how can i transfer the data from computer to computer? (I dont have a router) I have an ethernet cable tho...

Ive heard of a program called ghost im not sure if its the right program tho.

thanks
__________________

Keadonen is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

XP has it built in, But its alot easier to just install the hdd into the new computer and transfer them that way, If you have a router or a patch cable you can set up a homenetwork and transfer them threw there.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

You could also connect them using a null modem and crossover cable, but I agree with FlashDude, Slave the old HDD to the new computer.
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

from what harddrive would i boot from? they both have windows on it.
Keadonen is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

IF you set your old HDD to slave, You want to boot from your new one. Then your old one will be assigned a drive letter. From there you can browse and copy files freely over to your C: drive that you are currently running from.
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

Sorry im noob, how do you set it to slave?
And will my old Hd have the different drive letter when its back in my old computer? (Old hd has a partition one is C:/ on is D:/)
Keadonen is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 03:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

No it won't have the different drive letter when its back in your old computer.

Take the hard drive out (im hoping you know what a hard drive is), look at the front end of it, youll see some pins (about 8 pins), and if theres a jumper in there already (a little thing that has been inserted around two pins), read the jumper settings ontop of the hard drive. therell hopefully be a diagram displaying where teh jumper needs to go in relation to those 8 pins for the drive to be recognised as a slave.

An easier option is unplugging the wide, usually grey, cable (aka IDE cable) and power cable from the back of your CD drive and plugging them into your hard drive. If you look on one side of the IDE cable youll see a red line, that indicates pin 1. As youre inserting the IDE cable, pin 1 must be closest to where you plug the power into the hard drive. If you only have one CD drive you won't have to worry about jumper settings.

Good luck
__________________

imation is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.