All right, this is driving me nuts (Firefox Portable) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2006, 07:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default All right, this is driving me nuts (Firefox Portable)

I am using firefox portable on my usb flash drive:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820163149

It is hellishly slow. I don't mean the internet speed is slow, but the actual program is. Like it will randomly freeze up for 5-15 seconds, when I am typing, opening a new page, scrolling, etc...

It is driving me NUTS.

At first I thought it was because I had cache enabled, but it is exactly the same when I disabled it. I used to have a much older version of firefox portable and it did not have this problem. It is driving my mad. I have 2.0RC3 and it also had the same problem with 1.5.0.8. Yes, it is being used in a USB 2.0 port and usb 2.0 is enabled. Please help me
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Try this one http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable

It's 1.5.0.7, I'm not sure if 1.5.0.8 is stable on portable. Where did you get it?
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I got it from portableapps.com ...

EDIT:
And when I said 1.5.0.8 I meant 1.5.0.7, that was a typo.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Ok..I don't know if this matters but does it happen on different computers you use it on?
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 12:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yes.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 03:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to arcman
Default

Is this an older flash drive you're using? Has it seen a lot of use?
Flash media deteriorates the more it's used, so if portable firefox is having a lot of trouble running from it, it may be a sign the media is starting to go bad.
arcman is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 09:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

No, it's fairly new and still very good. I think I fixed it, by uninstalling a bunch of add-ons that I had installed.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 11:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I used to use it on my drive, on USB1.1 :freak:

It was doing the same thing yours is doing, now I just run it from My Documents.

I use 2.0 BTW.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.