alcohol 120% problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2004, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to mazer3800
Default alcohol 120% problem

I'm trying to backup my doom3 play cd, I did the copycd function of alcohol 120%, it burned successfully but when I put the disk in, the game won't run. It brings up that beginning title screen and the disk just spins and spins. Any suggestions on how to get it to work?

Also when the disk was being copied to the hard drive there were tons of read errors, is this a common thing when copying a game?
__________________

mazer3800 is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

yeah sure is especially when there is copyright code embedded in the game. They do not want you to do exactly what you did but for reasons of distribution to others. Mighty fine line between the term backup and copy when it comes to the game manufacturers.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

ah, i think this thread is verging on the edge of whats legal and not. not that having a backup isn't nice to have but what does it say right on every game disk we buy? not to make illegal copies. i'm no mod but......Mods? help me here....

*EDIT* thanks Major for the post underneath mine. makes it look like i posted twice in a row though.
jaksback is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

ok..i will delete that post
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 09:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

you worried about scratches or disk damage then check out www.d-skin.com ........see, no need for a backup.
jaksback is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to mazer3800
Default

Yeah I always abuse my cd's, and I figure doom3 is so hard to run on my comp, if I have any scratches at all it'll just stop working (yeah i have bad luck with games). I always thought alcohol 120% got past that copyright stuff, guess I was wrong....
mazer3800 is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 07:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Default

i made a back up copy of the doom 3 play disk and it worked fine.
__________________

pcflea is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.