Alcohol 120% and Daemon tools - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2005, 08:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default Alcohol 120% and Daemon tools

I cant get these to install on my new system. These are my MOST IMPORTANT PROGRAMS. If i cant get them to work i may as well bring the system back b/c its worthless. The error is caused by a device driver conflict i guess. Its starts to install, looks like its going weel, then it asks me to reboot and when it comes back it says that my system has just receovered from a major system problem. I look at the error and it says something about device driver problem. I am assuming that the problem is that its installing a driver which is conflicting with my DVD+-RW driver that is already installed.

Anyone know how to get around this...its very important b/c i need one of these programs to work.

OR, are there any other virtual drive emulation programs out there that work similar to Alcohol 120%?
__________________

d_source is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Don't worry about Alcohol...worry with Daemon first. If you can get it to work, you have it made. I've worked without the alcohol program but don't you dare take daemon away from me.

What are your system specs? Liz
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you may have to download new ATAPI drivers.
you might find them here
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by southernlady
Don't worry about Alcohol...worry with Daemon first. If you can get it to work, you have it made. I've worked without the alcohol program but don't you dare take daemon away from me.

What are your system specs? Liz
Liz, My system specs are in my signature. Why worry about daemon tools over alcohol? Honestly i like alcohol better but i'll take either right now.

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
you may have to download new ATAPI drivers.
you might find them here
How do install these drivers if i cant install the program? Should i install the ATAPI drivers first? And what is ATAPI? :S


Thanks for ur help in this time of crisis.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

apokalipse, i just went to the site you posted and there are so many device drivers for CD-ROM / CDRW / DVD, how do i know which to choose, and can i back track if it f*ks something up?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Tell you what I need you to do for me, download and run EVEREST Home Edition and email me the results. There is a report wizard that you can run and then tell it to save as text file. When you tell it to email, it will automatically fill in the everest address, delete that and put southernlady5464atgmail.com

That will give me the information I need but PLEASE do NOT post that information here on this board. Once you run it, you will see why. You do not want others seeing this info. Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 10:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

Will do. I am at work right now but i'll do it when i get home. THX for the help.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 09:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

southernlady, i emailed u the info that u requested. I cant check my email from here (at work) b/c its blocked.

Thx for the help. I treid again yesterday but still couldnt get it to work.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 10:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Got what I needed...and you saw why I didn't want you to post it here once you ran it. I saw that you edited a few pages, LOL.

With SP2 in your system, things may work differently. THAT was what I was looking for. Did you just upgrade? Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 12:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

I did just upgrade to SP2 b/c i just installed the OS last week. I just purchased the PC last thursday so everything is fresh and new. Any ideas to what is the cause?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.