AIM and kids? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 06-23-2005, 09:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default AIM and kids?

I'm not sure where to ask this... actually I'm lucky I made it this far! but here goes... I was wondering, is there a way I can se what my kids are saying on AIM? my son has made a couple new friends recently that he talks to constantly on the computer... I know he uses AIM, but he closes the conversation every time I walk in the room and I was wondering if there is a way to find out what he's saying, and if its at all possible, what he has already said... a direct confrontation won't work because I'm not that good with computers but he is... and I'm afraid he will simply lie and theres no way I could verify his story... thanks guys for any help.

Old 06-23-2005, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)

Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

Ummm...a Keyghost Keylogger?
http://www.keyghost.com/

You could use a software-based keylogger that runs in the background, but if he's as computer savvy as you say he is, it'll may take him a whole of 10 minutes to figure it out and disable it.

Debian Support Forums!
Old 06-23-2005, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie

DO NOT BUY A KEY LOGGER THEY ARE NOW ILLEGAL under the new spyware laws called Spyact and I-spy you can read the law here http://www.govtrack.us/congress/bill.xpd?bill=h109-29.

It's about personal security and don't recommend spying on your kid as it's an invasion of his personal space back in the day I remember using encryption software just so my folks cannot read what I typed. I've also tried turning off the history recording on AIM. The day my parents put on a tracking software to see what I was saying I knew from the processes and I reformated the whole computer. The good memories of the past....