After Affects of Worm - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2003, 05:21 PM   #41 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default

Okay,
Dave is this a home-built system or a OEM type machine (Compaq, Dell, IBM, etc.)?

You basically need to go into BIOS/CMOS setup and go to "boot options" then change the primary boot device to "IDE CD-rom" This is a little bit different depending on what type of PC you have.

If you are sure you don't want to do this, have your friend do it when he comes over. this will allow you to boot to CD and install Windows XP pro, which will solve your problem.

Usually it takes a few confirmation steps to actually change something in there so if this is all you do, you shouldn't mess it up.
__________________

__________________
Brahm -- nothing fancy
brahm is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 05:37 PM   #42 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

This is a Gateway PC. I hope to learn how to build one some day, that might be a good tutorial for Tech-Heaven!

I will probably look into my BIOS/CMOS a little later. I'm unsure about trying stuff there, but I'll look.

In the meantime, I'm trying to check the system properties through C:.

Dave
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 05:57 PM   #43 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default Re: Ok dave Got your PM

Quote:
Originally posted by Nightman
go to the C: drive and the windows/system directory and locate the sistray or system properties this way. let me know if your able to get on the system properties.
I've gone to C: drive, then windows. I don't see systray or system properties, per se. I do see systray.exe. Am I missing something?

Sidenote: Why do most of the .exe files not do anything, but the Show Desktop does work?

Dave
Dave is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 06:08 PM   #44 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Default Re: Re: Ok dave Got your PM

Quote:
Originally posted by DMo224
I've gone to C: drive, then windows. I don't see systray or system properties, per se. I do see systray.exe. Am I missing something?

Sidenote: Why do most of the .exe files not do anything, but the Show Desktop does work?

Dave
thats the one, you should see sistray,this will not work for you either, oh my this Virus got you Dave really, it did some good damage.

Sistray if you see it will also take you to the device Manager, can you try Safe mode to see if you can access the Device Manager this way? or throught the control panel through safe mode?

If you also have the time Dave if you can get in to the DOS mode type in scandisk from there and let it go and finish a scandisk this way, this will help also.
Nightman is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 09:40 PM   #45 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

Hmm, I can't even get the ScanDisk to run. Normally, if I get the BSOD and I turn off the computer, ScanDisk runs before anything else. So, I turned off my computer to get it to run and it did not run.

Okay, since I can't beat my computer at Chess, I'm gonna' try kickboxing with it in a minute if I don't get it to cooperate!

I will try SafeMode in a few minutes, but I'm gonna' take a break from this thing. I'll be back later or tomorrow. Thanks for bearing with me.

Dave
Dave is offline  
Old 01-06-2003, 12:53 PM   #46 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DMo224
Hmm, I can't even get the ScanDisk to run. Normally, if I get the BSOD and I turn off the computer, ScanDisk runs before anything else. So, I turned off my computer to get it to run and it did not run.

Okay, since I can't beat my computer at Chess, I'm gonna' try kickboxing with it in a minute if I don't get it to cooperate!

I will try SafeMode in a few minutes, but I'm gonna' take a break from this thing. I'll be back later or tomorrow. Thanks for bearing with me.

Dave
Dave I want you to try something I forgot and it's been along time for me using the Dos

goto start > run and type in Command Now a box will appear and you what it to get to the C: Prompt only so what you do is type in Cd/space two dots.. like this Cd .. and again until you just see the C: prompt only and type in this control sysdm.cpl

Have to go back to work so if this doesn't do it Man Hang in there. I'm thinking for you...

NM
Nightman is offline  
Old 01-06-2003, 01:32 PM   #47 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nightman
goto start > run and type in Command Now a box will appear and you what it to get to the C: Prompt only so what you do is type in Cd/space two dots.. like this Cd .. and again until you just see the C: prompt only and type in this control sysdm.cpl
I did that. Interesting that the RUN line will take some commands and not others. When I put in "control sysdm.cpl" it gave me the following message:

No application is associated with the specified file. Create an association by using the Explorer.

I will be out for awhile, and I gotta' friend coming over in a couple of hours. I will be back later and let you know what happened.

Thanks to all for all the help. But don't go away, I still might need some.

Dave
Dave is offline  
Old 01-06-2003, 04:40 PM   #48 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DMo224
I did that. Interesting that the RUN line will take some commands and not others. When I put in "control sysdm.cpl" it gave me the following message:

No application is associated with the specified file. Create an association by using the Explorer.

Dave
Here you go, it's way better then how I would explain it
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;306493
Nightman is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 05:20 PM   #49 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default THE Update

Well, the Yaha worm really fouled up a lot of things on the PC, as you've probably already read. Here's the rest of the story:

A friend came over and helped me out. Actually, he didn't help me, it was like me helping him, a little anyway. He copied some information off my harddrive, what had not already been ruined and what was clean. Then it was format the harddrive.

After that, he loaded Windows XP Pro and updated the drivers. The computer is back up and running. I will have to reinstall lots of the programs that I was previously using.

I really appreciate all the responses, they have helped me to learn.

Thanks,

Dave
Dave is offline  
Old 01-10-2003, 12:21 AM   #50 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Default Re: THE Update

Quote:
Originally posted by DMo224
Well, the Yaha worm really fouled up a lot of things on the PC, as you've probably already read. Here's the rest of the story:

A friend came over and helped me out. Actually, he didn't help me, it was like me helping him, a little anyway. He copied some information off my harddrive, what had not already been ruined and what was clean. Then it was format the harddrive.

After that, he loaded Windows XP Pro and updated the drivers. The computer is back up and running. I will have to reinstall lots of the programs that I was previously using.

I really appreciate all the responses, they have helped me to learn.

Thanks,

Dave
Cool dave. Enjoy XP it's cool..
__________________

Nightman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.