Advice on windows update's affecting computer performance

Status
Not open for further replies.

chris.thom21

Beta member
Hi, I am woundering if anyone can offer me any advice, I have a acer aspire 5315 windows vista 32Bit operating system (i know getting old isnt it) i have had to reset my computer back to its factory default a couple of times now due to computer problems which i think is the windows updates because after i install all the important updates so that the computer is up to date my memory always goes down by about 18GigaBytes yes that is true i am not a novice at computers i know my stuff.
So i am left with about 6GigaBytes of memory left which rapidly slows my computer down as 10GigaBytes is recommended for optimal performance and results in me having to do a sytem recovery again. Is their a way to skip all the old updates and just get the very latest updates? or if thats not possible then is it possible just to skip a few old updates to stop it from eating my memory?

If anyone can help please write back if you need more information let me know!.

THANKS

There is a difference between memory and hard drive storage space. Your Acer Aspire 5315 is physically limited to 2 Gigabytes of Memory. Your Acer Aspire 5315, on the other hand, supports up to a 200 Gigabyte Hard Drive.

Aspire 5315 Series Specifications

You need to clean out all the temporary files Windows creates to free up some space. Go to Start > My Computer. Then right click on your C: drive and select Properties. This will bring up the Properties Box, in the middle area of the box you will see a button labeled "Disk Cleanup", click on Disk Cleanup. This will start the Disk Cleanup scan, depending upon your system this make take a few seconds or several minutes (I've seen this take up to 10 minutes to complete). Once the scan is done another box will open offering you some options. Make sure the following items are checked:
  • Downloaded Program Files
  • Temporary Internet Files