Adminstrator - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2004, 05:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Default

1. Insert your floppy.
2. Double-click My Computer.
3. Right-click your floppy drive.
4. Select Format...
5. Make certain that 'copy system files' and 'quick erase' are unchecked
6. Click OK

After about a minute you will have a newly formatted floppy. It may, however, be easier to simply try another one.

When resetting the password, read all of the screens. This is writing to the registry and the registry can be very sensitive sometimes.
__________________

pachecod is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 05:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jet05
Default

ok thanks
__________________

jet05 is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 07:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

that was a BAD idea. He'll change the password, but of course now his dad will know. Besides, there is a reason for his locking it down, I'm sure.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 01:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Default

He must be willing to take that risk seeing as how he has already tried doing it. If he made the disk correctly and followed the instructions, it should have worked this time. Now, he should be where he needs to be as far as permissions.
pachecod is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 03:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default

Lol....I have the same problem excpet it is for computers at a loca library, there has to be a hack or something for this
__________________

~Hit me up on *AIM*drexoyl-*Yahoo*dykzeulb-*MSN*brett_dykzeul Instant Messengers~MidwestCustomz.Net
dykzeulb is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 05:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

There is. We sometimes use them for admin tools. They're about $100 apiece and come in various flavors, like win logon passwords, SQL passwords, etc...
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 07:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Somebody's gonna get Grounded...LOL
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 07:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Heh, well it'll be obvious when the passwords changed and he can reset it back to what it was. Hope he posts later on what his daddy did do him
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 02:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

It's obvious little brats like this will only learn the hard way.

I'll be waiting to see if Jet ever manages to get back on the PC after his punishment (whatever that might be).... I'm willing to betchya his father won't let him back on the PC for a very long time.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 05:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

pachecod you listed some software you said windows2000+, does this software work for XP?
__________________

raiden_nrl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.