Adminstrator - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2004, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jet05
Question Adminstrator

my dad made himself a adminstrator on WIndows XP, and made me a limited account. I now cant Install anything that i DL and i am limited to what i can do.


if anybody knows how i can get pass the adminstrator or turn it off withought him knowing could u please tell me


Thanks
__________________

jet05 is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

hahaha, you need to get into the admin account and then grant rights, but that would be very very bad tisk tisk
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jet05
Default

i dont know the password
jet05 is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 08:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

hmm well, you have to know that
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jet05
Default

i was wondering if there was anything else i could do to get ride of it
jet05 is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 03:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Jet05, your dad was very smart in creating an admin & user account. Unless you know the admin password, you cannot over-ride those restrictions.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Default

You can't override the permissions, but you can reset your local Administrator password to change them. I've come accross a Linux utility that will reset ANY Windows 2000+ user account's password (as well as enable them). It goes on a floppy and you boot to it. It finds all of your accounts and lets you change the passwords on them. It's pretty self explanitory as to how it works. Follow the directions and you will be up and in charge in about two minutes. It even works on domain controllers. Here is the link to the file:
http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/bd040116.zip

It was referenced by this site:
http://www.petri.co.il/forgot_admini...r_password.htm
pachecod is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 05:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jet05
Default

ive tried that before but every time i open it it asks me for a target and i put in A so then it says put in a floppy disk so i do and it says it cant fiure out how many sectors/track for this diskette

i dont know what it wants me to do ???????
jet05 is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 05:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Have you tried another floppy or tried formatting that one? (A complete format that is).
pachecod is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 05:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jet05
Default

how do i do that
__________________

jet05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.