Administrator Password??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2005, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Default Administrator Password???

I'm running Windows XP Home SP2 on my laptop.

I wanted to do a repair on my OS, but it keeps asking for an administrator password. I did not put an administrator password when I installed, so I don't understand why I need to enter a password.

I ended up doing a format, and complete installation; but I would like to get some advice in case I will need to do a repair in the future.

THANX.
__________________

nyle is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You trying to use the recovery console? You just have to hit enter if there is no password. It will ask you on all systems when you use the RC.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Thanx.

Yes, I was trying to use the recovery console.
And I think, (not so sure) I hit enter, but the system kept asking for a password.
nyle is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 02:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Default

I've seen this happen before. Sometimes, when you first install XP on your PC, you are prompted for an Administrator password. Once you get into windows, you make an administrator account, but it is your name. Odds are you'll forget your originial admin password. I think there's a password cracker out there that might be able to help, but I don't know it off hand.

What I had to do in this situation is slave the hard drive in another PC and then just fdisk it. It wasn't fun, and this won't apply with your laptop. Oops.
__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 04:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

default password for admin is usually administrator ( all lower case )
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 05:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Sorry, could you be more specific.

Do you mean that the password is the word "administrator"

Or do you mean that the password is the "name" of the administrator?

Thanx.
nyle is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 07:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

yes he means the word 'administrator'


This forum is real touchy about giving information of this type out for reasons that the information may be used "dishonestly" or illegally.

So I am closing this thread but.........members feel free to PM this individual if you'd like to help.

--jak
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.