administrator name change - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2006, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Question administrator name change

hi, quick quesion.
we are planning on changing administrator name to something other than "Administrator" (by default) on running servers. Does it effect any operation? If so, how?

The reason we are changing the name is that there is a request from our parent company. They seem to think it's more secured with non-default admin name....
__________________

selina is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Changing the default Administrator account is recommended, but is not absolutely safe. There is no negative affect that I can think off. At my place we make a dummie account call Administrator, but we renamed the default to something else that only the boss and I know.

When I said it's not absolutely safe, I meant that a geek could tell what account is the administrator by the last 3 digit of the SID.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

We do the same. Only we rename the Guest account to administrator, and create another. what he says is true about the account stuff too. Plus there are tools and such that are avaialbe. Physical access is the rule on that. One thing to note... If you change it on workstations and use sysprep, you can't set the password in sysprep. It won't work.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Default

So by us changing the admin name to something other than "Administrator", it won't put us in danger, correct?
selina is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

correct
Inaris is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
We do the same. Only we rename the Guest account to administrator, and create another. what he says is true about the account stuff too. Plus there are tools and such that are avaialbe. Physical access is the rule on that. One thing to note... If you change it on workstations and use sysprep, you can't set the password in sysprep. It won't work.

Good luck

what do you mean by set the password in sysprep?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to bsnyder100
Default

When i change my name from adminstrator it messes up all of my documents and such.... it really stinks! But, i have a an uncrackable password!!!!!! Muhahahaha
__________________
-Be curious it will lead you to all four corners of the world-

<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b67/bsnyder100/12124.gif\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
bsnyder100 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

uncrackable huh?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Default

what are the components/application that are run by administrator rather than any accounts in admin group?
selina is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 08:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bsnyder100
When i change my name from adminstrator it messes up all of my documents and such.... it really stinks! But, i have a an uncrackable password!!!!!! Muhahahaha
move the document location back to your old one
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.