Administrative tools does not open XP home - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2004, 01:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default Administrative tools does not open XP home

The Admin Tool in control panel does not open anymore. All other control panel items are opening fine.

when I right click on Admin Tools it does not give me an option to open , unlike other icons. It gives me an option to cut.

It was working fine a week ago.. I tried restoring the system to last week .. it still does not work..

I am wondering whether this is due to an XP update installed..

any help would be appreciated.

thanks
__________________

tantra_i is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

are u using any programs such as stylexp or anything like that? I can't think of anything else.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

No.. but I did install MS-plus a while ago.

also forgot to add.. nothing seems to happen when I click on the icon. it just greys out like a hidden icon..after a few seconds..
tantra_i is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

hmm, man im real sorry, iv never seen this befor. Il look this up, il get back to u
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

try this:
right-click on Taskbar, left-click Properties, click Start Menu tab, click Customize, check "Display Administrative Tools" ans OK out. This will show Administrative Tools under Program in addition to the Control Panel. see if u can get to it that way.

hope this helps
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

if that doesnt work, here u go:
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_a.htm

Administrative Tools - Restore
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/msi.reg
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

thanks so much the first remedy worked.. from the programs menu.

I was actually accessing the tools from the windows explorer..

But it is weird that it does not work from the control panel.
tantra_i is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

heh, glad it worked, enjoy
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.