Administator Help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2004, 03:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Unhappy Administator Help!!!

Ok My computer si really screwed up. Ok FIrst I am running Windows XP Pro. Currently after I changed something, I am no longer the administator. So Basic I can do basic functions, but thats it. There are no other users on this computer. I was playin around in the computer management, under the Local Users and Groups section. I think I delete my account from under the administators. Now When I log in im only a guest. I cant even see the cd-rom drives that are in there. I tried goin to the system restore and restore it before I screwed that up, but only the administator. This computer was never det with a password. So the administator when i try logging in with that it asks for a password. And I can't seem to put myself back as the administator. So any help on how to help my problem is greatly needed!!!
__________________

coolboy696 is offline  
Old 05-22-2004, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 130
Default

Hey coolboy696,

You can try using lusrmgr.msc from start, run, command box.
The other option is to reinstall Windows XP again which will leave
all files and folders intact. Is good to learn early that playing around with permissions, policies and changing Member of Groups
applies to the Administrator also. There are programs to mess with the Sam file but a reinstall will reset all the changes that
may be stopping you from gaining administrative access to
the computer.
Here are the instructions for reinstalling Windows XP.

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;315341

Good Luck
__________________

Worked4me is offline  
Old 05-22-2004, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Press <CAD> TWICE on the logon screen to bring up the hidden Administrator account.......or boot into SAFE mode and select the Admin account there......either way then recreate (or undo/rollback) your machine.....should be no need for a reinstall.
roho is offline  
Old 05-22-2004, 07:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

roho......what are you talking about?
He is just trying to recover the administrator password. If the <CAD> was a joke.....keep in mind that past 2000, <CAD> twice will not reboot the PC.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-22-2004, 09:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

have you tried the basic admin passwords?

password
-------notice thats blank.
administrator
admin
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 05-22-2004, 11:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

if you have the logon method set so when your computer boots up you see a list of users, Press <CAD> twice to get a standard login box Enter administrator as the user, if you never set an administrative password the password should be blank.
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 12:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Default

Um u no wats even better help? Remembering the password!! Thanks guys, but it just hit me. So I remembered my password. Ok but have you ever heard of the Run As command?
coolboy696 is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 12:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by coolboy696
Um u no wats even better help? Remembering the password!! Thanks guys, but it just hit me. So I remembered my password. Ok but have you ever heard of the Run As command?
yep! What specifically about it? Basically it happends when the user doesnt have enough provieleges to run the program or access a file and it gives you the option to run it as another user typically the admin.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 03:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesgroovin
roho......what are you talking about?
He is just trying to recover the administrator password. If the <CAD> was a joke.....keep in mind that past 2000, <CAD> twice will not reboot the PC.

-Mike
What am I talking about? What the hell are you talking about?
Am I (and T1Junkie) alone in knowing how to get to the failsafe Admin account in XP???????????????????????????????????????????
roho is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 03:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Ok, well.....first calm down a bit please. I was asking a simple question. Yes, what are you talking about? Can you please go into your "<CAD> TWICE" theory with more detail.
With your above explanation, not saying anywhere that you are incorrect mind you, it is a little hard to follow due to solutions that don't provide the instruction needed to get to your solution. You are asking the user to rollback an account with about no detail at all.
First though, explain the <CAD> TWICE theory...

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.