Admin question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2004, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hi
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to TheeOx
Default Admin question

Hi all.
I have a pc here with the last owners name on everything, licensing, etc. I cannot get her name off by changing passwords, etc in the accounts page.
How can I get her name off and out of my system, and put my name on it instead?
One more dopey question,
How can I be sure I have the proper admin control?
Thanks
Ox
__________________

TheeOx is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Simplest would be to rebuild the machine. or you can go through the registry and modify all of the entires containing her name.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 11:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

TheeOx,

EDIT: I dont think this is what you need...or is this the one?

Quote:
How can I get her name off and out of my system, and put my name on it instead?
MyComputer-->properties. There you can find an option in one of the tabs to enter your name for the computer.

Quote:
How can I be sure I have the proper admin control?
Well, if you login with the admin user and pass , then you have full control ..rite?

intercodes is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Format HD?
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

isnt there a registry key for the default username and company? i think its in HKLM>Software>Microsoft>Windows>Current Version. Look for default name and default company or the like. Otherwise search the registry for the strings.

to find your permissions look for your username in the users and passwords applet in the control panel. it should tell you what group your in.
office politics is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Admin question

Quote:
Originally posted by TheeOx
Hi all.
I have a pc here with the last owners name on everything, licensing, etc. I cannot get her name off by changing passwords, etc in the accounts page.
How can I get her name off and out of my system, and put my name on it instead?
One more dopey question,
How can I be sure I have the proper admin control?
Thanks
Ox
go into safe mode as admin, create you a new account with admin priviledges, then you delete their old account, the option is there, when it ask you to keep their files, say no if you don't want them
__________________

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.