Adding a program to startup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2006, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Adding a program to startup?

How do you add a program to startup? I'm trying to add a Joystick emulation program to startup when windows starts, but there's no option in the program and I can't remember how you do it.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 01:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to shayahakohen
Default

run regedit

hkeylocalmachine\software\microsoft\windows\curren tversion\run\

make a new string value and put the program path for the value.
__________________

shayahakohen is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

just a note: hkey_local_machine applies to all users accounts so if theres more then 1 and you want the program to run only for the currently logged in user , use hkey_current_user

another way , goto start-->programs and right click "startup" , click "open' , create a shortcut to the program , applies only to currently logged in user
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

put the program in that folder and it should start for every user
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 01:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Ok cool, thanks guys.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.