Added 2nd HD in XP-can't assign drive D - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2004, 01:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 15
Default Added 2nd HD in XP-can't assign drive D

I added a second HD under XP. My first HD has a Fat 32 partition, but being that I'm going to do a lot of video editing I chose to make the new HD a NTFS partition. That wasn't the problem. When I added the drive under XP I went into Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Computer Mangement/Disk Management. First it offered how to partition it, I chose one partition, and it only offered a NTFS partition, which was fine with me. When I went to format, it offered to assign me a drive of the letter 'I' thru 'Z'. Now I have CD and DVD drives on D and E, F drive is a compact flash reader, and G and H are virtual drives. The only other option it gave me was to not assign the drive with a letter, which I chose, hoping it would make my new HD the
D drive, and move the other drives up a letter. After formatting, the new drive came up with no letter assigned, so for now I've chosen it as 'I'. I went to 'change drive letter' when right clicking on the drive, but it only offers me letters I-Z. Any help? Thanks
__________________

doodah12 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 01:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

doodah12,

Since all your drive letters till H are user, the available drive letters are from 'I-Z'. So the disk managment only allows you to select the drive letter within that range.If you want to assign drive letter 'D' for the new HDD Partition, you have to change all your drive letter from D to H.

The sequence to change the drive letters to get C[1 HDD],D[2 HDD],EFGHI[FOR cd,dvd,virtual drives] is
change drive letters as follows,
H->I
G->H
F->G
E->F
D->E
New HDD partition->D

hope this helps!

Sign
Codes
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 01:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

You must first change you CD drive letter to Letter "I" , then the dirve letter D is available,you can change you new HDD drive letter to "D"


-Suker
__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 02:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by intercodes
doodah12,

Since all your drive letters till H are user, the available drive letters are from 'I-Z'. So the disk managment only allows you to select the drive letter within that range.If you want to assign drive letter 'D' for the new HDD Partition, you have to change all your drive letter from D to H.

The sequence to change the drive letters to get C[1 HDD],D[2 HDD],EFGHI[FOR cd,dvd,virtual drives] is
change drive letters as follows,
H->I
G->H
F->G
E->F
D->E
New HDD partition->D

hope this helps!

Sign
Codes


Hi ! intercodes you are online now? HUH! I almost meet you every time!

Let's make friends!
__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 15
Default

I know how to move the HD's up, by going to Admin. Tools/Comp. Mngmt./Disk Mngmnt., but how do I move up, or change the CD and virtual drives?
doodah12 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default


doodah12,
Use partition manager for changing the cd/dvd rom drive letters

sign
Codes
intercodes is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 12:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

if u wont to assign it the letter 'D'. u need to first change your CD drive to a different letter. (or what ever drive u said was 'D' at the moment)
jolancer is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Be careful when changing driveletters, especially if programs are installed on them. Use a tool like PowerQuest's DriveMapper. It searches all files and registry keys and assigns all old links to the new driveletter.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.