Add user account and restrictions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2005, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default Add user account and restrictions.

Hello i would like your help in creating a user account.

I'm running windows server 2003 and i would like to create an account where the user can not install new programms and can't see the contents of the hard drvies and the shortcuts of the desktop and start menu of my main user (Administrator) nor have access to the internet.

How can i do that?

Thanx in advance.
__________________

Chris Benoit is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

gpedit.msc
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Can you plz be more specific?I'm a newb in that matter.
Chris Benoit is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Start, run, type gpedit.msc

Go to users and groups.

Or right click on my computer, go to manager, add them there.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Well i can add users all right but how can i make the restrictions i asked?
Chris Benoit is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 05:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Using gpedit.msc under users and groups. I'm doing this blind so I might be wrong.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 05:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

which windows are you on?In 2k3 there are no users and grioups on gpedit.
__________________

Chris Benoit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.