"Add/Remove Programs" Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default "Add/Remove Programs" Problem

I have the "Add/Remove Programs" icon under the control panel where it should be, but when i double-click on it, a blank window opens up and I can't do anything with it. So I'm trying to remove some extra junk in my pc but cannot do so because my add/remove programs is not working correctly. What could've caused this? Is it a virus? What can I check for or what can I do to fix this? Thanks
__________________

bdkjose is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

it could be a virus. do u have any AV software?
__________________

__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default

yea, I have norton antivirus 2005 .... just havent installed it yet because I havent used this pc in a very long time and i just turned it on the other day.
bdkjose is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Download this as an alternative until you get that fixed

http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/fil...id,6477,00.asp
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 06:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

try registry mechanic
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 06:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

try the following...

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;323496

good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.