add/remove hardware wizard annoyance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2007, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default add/remove hardware wizard annoyance

I've been getting complaints at work(mainly on newer updated xp sp2 images) mainly on HP DC5100 business desktops. updates are current within a month, and I'm thinking it was a hotfix that's causing this but can't tell which one it might be. Basically no every time I install a driver for a device, especially USB Thumb drives, the users are told to install 3 drivers(usb mass storage, generic volume, and disk drive) but they're afraid to, plus we don't want them to have to and they don't want to go thru the hassle of going thru the add/remove hardware wizard, each user and sometimes seems to be certain usb drives and each user, they want to plug in the USB stick, wait 3 seconds and use it. Does anyone know what may be causing this problem? or a way we can fix it without reinstalling windows and creating yet another image?

thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

bump
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

If you select to not install the driver it should not appear again. Your best bet though is just to get the drivers from the internet.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 01:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

the drivers need to be installed to use the device, the drivers do not need to be grabbed from the internet, they are on the xp disc, im wondering why on all our other models there is no problem, when on these models with the newest image we have this annoyance.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.