adaware vs spybot search n destroy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2003, 02:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default adaware vs spybot search n destroy?

whats better, adaware or spybot search n destroy?
__________________

spfd is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 02:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a Macintosh!
they cannot run normal Windows programs (without a Windows emulator) and will be useless against it.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 11:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I Run Both
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 06:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Both is the only way to fly. Theyre free trials, so you dont have to worry about costs and theyre small programs, so no worries about HD space or bandwidth usage.

My dad's Compaq was FLOODED with spyware. Ad-aware and Spybot cleaned that baby like a charm and now its actually running fairly stable now.
g5orbust is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 06:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 604
Default

I run both also....
__________________
Search TF <b>before</b> posting!<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
randy is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 07:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 15
Default

I use SpywareBlaster its good also.
murphy2003 is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 10:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

They work completely differently, therefore pick up different stuff...therefore you should use both. As the spybot program says when it detects that another spyware/adware removal program, it keeps a backup folder that is completely safe so that if something was detected as spyware and removed, it can be restored...and the contents of that folder is often detected by other spyware removal programs.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 12:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

my procedure of clensing my pc is as follows...look for webupdates from ad-aware, then run ad-aware...then spybot...then windows cleaner...then reg scrub XP...then i will boot up norton system works...do the 1 button checkup...do the cleaner on there...run an antivirus and then a defrag...
ADZ is offline  
Old 10-15-2003, 03:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 300
Default

S&D rules its got so many more things. Ad-aware also seems to take ages but im guna start running both> Just for anyone www.lavasoftusa.com for Ad-aware and security.kolla.de for spybot youd be crazy not to have at least one
__________________
*PyRo* is offline  
Old 10-16-2003, 02:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

Procedure:

-Run Spybot
-Download updates
-Search for adware

-Run Ad-Aware
-Download updates
-Search for adware

-Run Spybot again

-Run Ad-Aware again

-Run SpywareBlaster
-Download updates
-Block list of adware

-Run McAfee VirusScan

-Clear Temporary Internet Files, Cookies, and History

-Defragment

BTW, what is this "reg scrub XP" you speak of, ADZ?
__________________

__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.