activeX - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2005, 07:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default activeX

Hi
Whay are activeX controls disabled when we set the security settings high on our browser?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Because activex lets people install virus's for you without you knowing.

Use firefox (or safari) instead of internet explore though.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 59
Default

i c... thanks
access denied is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

ActiveX is an environment for running web applications and more dynamic content that regular HTML can't do. Often ActiveX is used to run forms, searching functionality, and email integration.

Unfortunately it's also a bit of a security risk since it can be used to execute viruses on a persons computer.

If you have IE (the only browser that supports ActiveX) you can turn ActiveX off. Without ActiveX, IE is much more secure. There's no reason to switch browsers over this.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

doesn't firefox support activeX?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
doesn't firefox support activeX?
LOL....

no
EricB is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 11:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Righton Shoobie...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 07:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

what is the LOL for firefox supporting activeX supposed t mean

does that mean that the activeX control is not good enough to be supported

or firefox is not god enough to support activeX?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

It means that Firefox/Mozilla/Netscape decided to not let the activex coding be supportable in their environment.

Quote:
If you have IE (the only browser that supports ActiveX) you can turn ActiveX off. Without ActiveX, IE is much more secure. There's no reason to switch browsers over this.
Actually, I did. I use Firefox almost to the total exclusion of any other browser. I do keep IE because you have to have it for updates. And if I find something to bookmark, I also bookmark it in IE or I'll lose it, but that is IT! Firefox is my prefered browser and will stay that way. I might have used Opera but won't pay for anything when I can get it for free. Avant is IE based and has many of the same issues that IE has.

For a FULL list of possible browsers: Browsers Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
what is the LOL for firefox supporting activeX supposed t mean

does that mean that the activeX control is not good enough to be supported

or firefox is not god enough to support activeX?
southern lady got it right. ActiveX is the root of most of IE problems. it is what let other people hijack your computer. it also can let a virus in the back door without you knowing

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=41031
__________________

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.