active x control - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14
Default active x control

I am attempting to update my daughters laptop which is running XP Home SP1 and I cannot access the Windows Update site which states that I need to Install Active X Control by right clicking on the Explorer Information bar which is not appearing. I am also getting a warning message that the security settings prohibit running Active X controls. I have checked the settings (Internet Options - Security) and as far as I can see Active X controls are enabled. I have attempted to install SP2 from a Windows SP2 disk and this also fails. And yes - it is a legal copy of Windows! Can anyone help?
__________________

surfinsurveyor is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 11:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: active x control

Quote:
Originally posted by surfinsurveyor
I have attempted to install SP2 from a Windows SP2 disk and this also fails.
what happens? any errors?
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 11:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

click the link below for links to other pages

from http://www3.telus.net/dandemar/acxen.htm

I get an Active X error when attempting to use Windows Update.
1. Open Internet Explorer
Click Tools
Click Internet Options
Click Security tab
Click "Default Level" button
Click OK and follow prompts

2. Otherwise try:
WINUP: "Software Update Incomplete, This Windows Update Software Did Not Update Successfully" Error Message When You Visit the Windows Update Web Site

3. If the above fail, try the Windows Update Checklist
office politics is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 12:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Think I may have solved the problem - went on Microsoft site, looked up the error code and found that I needed to register some .dll files in the registry (about 8 in all) and now I can get on the update site. Presently downloading/installing SP2. After that I hope I will be able to get on the websites/logins that I couldn't before.

Thanks anyway.
surfinsurveyor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.