activation after defragmentation? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2005, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default activation after defragmentation?

i defragged my c: partition about 20 times after it told me it was 31% fragmented. so in the end i only had 1% fragmentation and i was
happy.

however, when i restarted my computer to refresh it, micro$hit told me i have to activate Windows.

so my question is, can extreme defragmentation make the hard drive look so different to windows, that it thinks i added new hardware?

nothing else has been added to my machine for a while!
__________________

__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 07:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

No that is unheard of at least by me... Very uncommon.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 08:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Where you able to reactivate it?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default

yea, over the internet.

regardless, the fact that it would happen raises some new questions for me.

btw, it IS a legal copy of XP Pro, paid for by my school.
__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Maybe you shifted the files round so much windows lost track of some config file?
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.