activating Win XP Home on two computers - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2005, 08:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Derek01F
Default

oh I see
__________________

Derek01F is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think I heard heard that an OEM copy can only be activated on one computer, but retail can be activated on 3
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 01:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I think I heard heard that an OEM copy can only be activated on one computer, but retail can be activated on 3
That is correct because I got into it with Microsoft over that so I had to buy two copies of WinXP...altho they were only $30 a piece.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

That a fact how many can you install for a MSDN version of XP because I probably have it installed on over 4 computers.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I think I heard heard that an OEM copy can only be activated on one computer, but retail can be activated on 3
Does that mean that I cant activate an OEM version on 2 computers? What happen if I try, is it going to work or windows wont accept the serial?
AvioniX is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

windows will accept the serial because it is a valid serial but when you try and activate it, it won't let you. and you will have to find another serial or reinstall the os with a new CD
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Once again, another rampant display of EULA neglect. You guys should read yer EULA's once in a while. EricB is turning blue in the mouth but sounds like no one's listening.

You're allowed to have 1 desktop installation and 1 laptop installation. That's base.

Activations depend entirely on the type of disk/license you purchased. Some disks are only good for 2 activations. Others don't care as long as you only have 2 machines registered at once. Some you can continue to use only if you call and activate. Others are completely worthless after 2-4 installations. Read your EULA. If you don't understand it, call Microsoft. They'll help you resolve your situation. Despite all the zombie hype, Microsoft does provide nice support concerning licensing issues.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.