Activating Speech Recognition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2006, 02:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to jwinn3
Default Activating Speech Recognition

I’m having problems activating “Speech” within Microsoft Word 2002. I activated speech in the tools menu, but when I attempt to “train” it, I get the message that it cannot complete the operation because another speech engine is in use (Microsoft ASR English Version 5 Engine). I currently have four speech engines installed: Microsoft ASR English Version 5 Engine; Lernout & Hauspie TruVoice American English TTS Engine; Microsoft Speech Recognition Engine 4.0, and Microsoft Text-To-Speech Engine 4.0.

Also, from Speech Tools/Options, when I go to Speech Input Settings/Language Bar/Add/Add Input Language, to activate Speech, it’s grayed out. I have EN United States, Keyboard, U.S., and Speech Recognition added in Installed Services. When I go to Speech in Control Panel, I get the error message: “Could not initialize volume meter. Please select a different audio device.” And for the Recognition Profiles, it’s empty and won’t allow me to select anything including the default. (I DID inadvertently delete the default profile!!)

I also have fully installed Microsoft Agent 2.0 technology. For audio input I have a Labtec webcam with microphone in addition to a headphone with microphone.

My system profile is as follows:

Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600)
AMD Athlon XP 1800+ 1.53 gigahertz
2.0GB RAM
Radeon 9600 Pro
__________________

jwinn3 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 08:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

have you tried just uisng 1 instead of all 4?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to jwinn3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
have you tried just uisng 1 instead of all 4?
Warez Monster:
Yes I've removed three of the speech engines in add/remove and still ran into the same problems. I believe I have a corrupted recording profile. At this point I'm just going to forego using Speech Recognition until I decide to clean install and get Windows XP Professional.

Thanks for your help!
jwinn3 is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 01:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I don't like it. you have to speak in perfect english to get it to work
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.