Accidentally Installed Vista Twice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2007, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 22
Default Accidentally Installed Vista Twice

Due to a stupid mistake by me, Vista is installed twice on my HD. Now whenever I try to complete the installation for Vista, it will give me an error and crash. I can't seem to get the Vista disk working either. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ajax413 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Accidentally Installed Vista Twice

Go back to the begining. Format the disc. Fully. Then start the Vista install over.

Where you are at this screen hit the Advance button to bring up the format options like shown:


I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Accidentally Installed Vista Twice

Just did that. It worked, but the install goes into standby and then restarts after the "Complete Installation" phase. I'm going to try and reinstall it again with only one stick of RAM to see if that helps out.
Ajax413 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installed xp then installed vista now i want to remove xp ? kurtowns Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-07-2007 07:50 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 04:31 PM
Just installed Vista, very good but 2 issues please help! jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-03-2007 02:53 PM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 09:56 PM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 05:25 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.